- Angamaly Diocese -



The church had its beginning in the year 1969 when the "Mor Koorilose Sunday School" was converted as a Chapel.   In 1975, the diocesan Metropolitan Mor Dionysius Thomas (Catholicos Baselios Thomas I) declared it as an independent 'parish church' under Angamaly diocese.  About a a decade later the church was reconstructed in its present form and consecrated with Holy Mooron by the late lamented Catholicos of the East, Aboon Mor Baselios Paulose II of blessed memory on December 15th, 1986. 

The main altar of the church  is dedicated in the name of its patron saint, Mor Geevarghese Shado, and the side altars in the names of Mother Mary, St. Thomas the Apostle,  Mor Kuriakose Sahdo and Patriarch Mor Ignatius Elias III.  The church has in its prize possession a century-old "Thaksa" written in the own hands of  St. Koorilose Paulose Kochuparambil, the former Malankara Metropolitan and the Primate of the Syrian church of India.  The main feast of the church falls on April 30 and May 1.



Kutta St. George Church

Kaninadu P.O.

Ernakulam - 682 310


Tel:  0484 2730360



This is not an official site of the Kutta St. George Church